Life · Nursing School

First Semester of Nursing School

Hello everyone, it has been quite a while since I have written a post. I think the last time I posted was around two months ago..my bad😬

BUT, I am finally finished with my first semester of nursing school and I was desperately ready for summer break. This semester was filled with lots of learning, laughing, and crying. These introductory nursing courses were packed with information that we had to learn quickly and it was rough to get used to, but thankfully I managed to get through it with some old and new friends. I am very lucky I found a group of friends at the very beginning of the semester or else I would have lost my mind on my own and that would not have been fun. We studied together and made sure no one was falling behind on our assignments. They kept me sane throughout the semester and we built strong bonds with each other that will keep us moving along in future semesters (love you guys❤️). Final grades aren’t posted yet, but after calculating everything I think I’ll be finishing my first semester of nursing school with two A’s and two B’s. I’m very proud of myself for working hard this semester even at times when I had no energy to do so, but I always reminded myself of the goals I have made and that definitely helped me do well. The over-achiever in me is a little salty I didn’t have all A’s, but I’ll just work harder this summer and in the fall to raise my GPA.

Being a full-time student and also being a nursing student doesn’t give you a lot of extra time on your hands. I went to my classes, did homework, studied, slept, and ate for the most part. I made sure to schedule some time in for friends, family, and relaxation so I wouldn’t go crazy. I started a new tradition with my brother and our friends: on Tuesday’s and Thursday’s, we would buy some food (mainly Zaxby’s on Tuesday’s because of the $5 student meals) and go to their apartment to watch our shows. We would stay for a couple of hours and then we’d go back home so I could study for a little bit and then I’d go to sleep. I’m glad we started doing that most weeks because it was nice being with friends and being able to relax for a while until I remembered I had school work to do and I would start stressing out again. I also had to make time on the weekends for Special Olympics. I coached the swim team again this year and it has been amazing!!! We had more athletes join the team than last year, so we became a bigger Special O family. Practices on the weekend were another thing that helped me relax because I got to spend time with my favorite friends and help them improve their swimming from last year. The swim meets we went to were a huge success and we have been training for the state meet which is in a couple of weeks, so I’m very very very pumped for that weekend🎉 We also had the Spring Gala with our delegation of Special Olympics and it’s one of my favorite events that we have every year. Everyone dresses up, we have a grand march, eat dinner, and dance all night..well it feels like all night but it ends around 9:00pm. I got to walk with two of my swimmers in the grand march and we looked fabulous. I had lots of fun with everyone there and I definitely passed out when I got home because of dancing too hard. This semester definitely had its ups and downs, but it has been a learning experience and I’m hoping next semester will also be great.

This summer is going to be fairly uneventful. I’ll be taking three classes that wouldn’t have fit with my schedule in the fall: Physics 1, Physics 2, and Nutrition. I could have taken nutrition online in the fall, but I would’ve had to schedule last for the nursing classes for Spring 2019 and I need to be able to plan pre-med classes around nursing classes and clinical. I’ll be taking nutrition online from West Kentucky Technical and Community College and it’ll start June 4th and finish on August 3rd, so this course is long but hopefully it won’t be too difficult. The physics courses will be the beginning of my plan to take as many pre-med courses as I can before I graduate, so I can have the basic knowledge for the MCAT and medical school. I’ll take Physics 1 from May 29th to June 29th, then I’ll take Physics 2 from July 2nd to August 3rd. I liked physics in high school, so I’m hoping I’ll also enjoy it at the college level. Since they are condensed into a month instead of a full semester it will be difficult, but I just have to focus on this class and nutrition which shouldn’t be impossible. Other than taking these classes, I will be whipping myself back into shape because ya girl has not worked out consistently in over two months and I have gotten a little tubby. So, I will start going to the gym and I’m also going to start swimming again which I’m really excited to do!! I’ll probably drown when I try to swim more than 1,000 yards, so be on the lookout for my floating body at the MSU wellness center lol.

This was a quick little recap of what I’ve been doing in the past months and I’ll actually have time to write more posts this entire summer! They will probs be depressing since I’ll be inside most of the time instead of being outside enjoying the sun, but I’ll try to be more lively than I have been. Also, still no fix on DACA or the Dream Act so we’ll see what happens this summer with that. My work permit expires March 2019, so I’ll have to start saving up money to send in my renewal application this fall🙃 If you’re able to help ya girl out by sending some $$ to me, my Venmo account is @CelesteSiqueiros and I would truly appreciate it since I’m broke af!!!

I hope you enjoy your first days of summer and get a nice lil tan🌞🌺

-cele from the block

ps. enjoy these two pics of my favorite memories from this semester

integrated physical
cheesin hard because we passed our integrated physical!!
gala
photo booth fun with two of my swimmers

pss. I will be posting my review of my nursing school things I’ve used this semester soon!

Leave a comment